Introducing Steve Radell

New members may like to introduce themselves and tell the Board about their collecting intereets
SteveRadell

Introducing Steve Radell

#1 Post by SteveRadell » Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:39 pm

Hello from Los Angeles California, USA.

I have been collecting worldwide stamps and enjoying them since 1976. I narrowed which countries by 1980.
I have always collected Australia and the states, but didn't have too many of the states until really starting to acquire material in 1998.
I started building an interest in Tasmania when acquiring a pound of 1980's Australia on paper - and noticed several had Tasmania town cancels. That seemed unusual to me so I deferred soaking until I had learned more, which took a few years.

I also like platypus as an unusual animal, and Australia was a place my father wished to visit and was his dying words.

I started by looking at Tasmania with google earth, closer and closer to determine biggest than smaller towns. Then a dealer friend of mine provided me with a printed list of the 1986 Lancaster towns (pictorials) late 2009, and then the flood began. The box wasn't much more than Hobart and Launceston, but I had found a passion.

I found an Australian dealer and a major collector at a show in Jan 2010 to learn the types, general values etc. and picked up a half dozen decent cancels including 4 'R' rateds. A year later I have reached half (and many dupes), thanks to mainly Aussies on ebay. My best now is a King River (RRR - any exact population #?). I have submitted an article to the APS, it may take another year to get to print.

In the meantime, I need to learn the types beyond Lancaster (Hobart, Launceston, Strahan, Zeehan, loose ship etc.) so I am happy to find this group. I have only been as close as Hawaii to Australia, but I hope maybe someday I will get to visit.

I grew up in Henrietta, New York - so I would like to get a Henrietta Tasmania pictorial cancel, perhaps someone can help.

Thank you,

Steve Radell