Tasmania 4d Chalon Head Stamp WMK Double Lined 5 Perf 12X11½

Please post anything about Tasmanian Stamps in this forum
dazeyez

Tasmania 4d Chalon Head Stamp WMK Double Lined 5 Perf 12X11½

#1 Post by dazeyez » Sat Feb 07, 2015 7:17 pm

Hello members,

I was referred to this site especially for this particular stamp as stated above in the subject line of " Tasmania 4d Chalon Blue Stamp WMK Double Lined 5 Perf 12X11½ ". Since, I just started learning about stamps just a year ago, I came across this stamp; which came untouched in a page of Tasmania stamp page from Europe.

I checked the watermark numerous times and previously I thought it was a Double Lined Numeral Watemark of 2, but now I can confirm it is in fact Double Lined Numeral WMK of 5 (which corresponds and matches to that of New South Wales Diadem 5d Imperf Issue.

I hope some members can give me some insight into it. Thank you.

Images as below.

Tasmania page as it came

Tasmania 4d Blue Chalon Head stamp Front Side

Tasmania 4d Blue Chalon Head stamp Watermark Side (I had to use photoshop to enchance the watermark to be shown) Original way and thus inverted

Tasmania 4d Blue Chalon Head stamp Watermark Side (Now flipped the watermark and 180 degrees turn to show the proper watermark.

Tasmania 4d Blue Chalon Head stamp Watermark Side (Without much contrast to show the paper)

Comparing it with other Tasmania 2d Green Along side the above subject stamp (face side) in the Sunglight to show if there is any damage or alteration (not that I can see of)

Comparing it with other Tasmania 2d Green Along side the above subject stamp (WMK side) in the Sunglight to show if there is any damage or alteration (not that I can see of)

Large photo of Tasmania 4d Chalon Head (Front Side) to show better quality. Shown in Sunglight for the transparency of paper (so to show it's not altered)